- Sioux County Daily News - http://www.siouxcountydailynews.com -

Former Northwestern Football Coach Larry Korver Nominated For NFF Hall-Of-Fame

IRVING, Texas – The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today the names on the 2021 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, including 78 players and seven coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 99 players and 33 coaches from the divisional ranks.

For the complete Press Release CLICK HERE [1]

“It’s an enormous honor to just be on the College Football Hall of Fame ballot considering more than 5.4 million people have played college football and only 1,027 players have been inducted,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “The Hall’s requirement of being a First-Team All-American creates a much smaller pool of about 1,500 individuals who are even eligible. Being in today’s elite group means an individual is truly among the greatest to have ever played the game, and we look forward to announcing the 2021 College Football Hall of Fame Class Presented by ETT early next year.”

The announcement of the 2021 College Football Hall of Fame Class Presented by ETT will be made in early 2021, with specific details to be announced in the future.

The 2021 College Football Hall of Fame Class Presented by ETT will be officially inducted during the 64th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 7, 2021, at the New York Hilton Midtown. They will also be honored at their respective schools with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments, during the 2021 season.

Nominated is former Northwestern College Football Head Coach Larry Korver (1967-94). He Led Northwestern to two National Championships, 14 playoff appearances and 212 victories in 28 seasons on the sidelines…Twice named NAIA National Coach of the Year, he has coached 32 players to All-America status.

Clyde “Buck” Starbeck-Northern Iowa (1936-42, 1945-57)-Captured seven conference championships in 10 years…Went 31 consecutive conference games without a defeat…Member of the University of Northern Iowa Hall of Fame.

Jared DeVries, Iowa-Defensive Lineman-1998 consensus First Team All-American and 1997 Big Ten Defensive Lineman of the Year…Three-time First Team All-Big Ten performer who ranks first all-time in league history with 78 career TFL…Four-year starter who led the Hawkeyes in sacks and TFL every year of career.

Robert Gallery, Iowa-Offensive Tackle-2003 consensus First Team All-American and recipient of the 2003 Outland Trophy…Two-time First Team All-Big Ten selection and Big Ten Offensive Lineman of the Year as a senior…Led Hawkeyes to a Big Ten title, Orange Bowl appearance and a No. 8 final ranking in 2002.

Andre Tippett, Iowa-Defensive End-1981 consensus First Team All-American who led Hawkeyes to 1982 Rose Bowl berth, its first bowl game since 1959…Two-time First Team All-Big Ten performer, leading Iowa to 1981 Big Ten championship…Holds Iowa record for TFL yardage (153 yards/20 TFL).

Carl Boyd, Northern Iowa-Running Back-Named First Team All-American in 1987…Selected First Team All-Conference and Offensive Player of the Year in 1987…In 1987, he was Conference Player of the Week four times…Two-time team captain…Totaled 2,735 career rushing yards and 1,987 receiving yards.

Pin It [3]