- Sioux County Daily News - http://www.siouxcountydailynews.com -

NAIA Division II Women’s Basketball All-America Teams Announced

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2020 Division II Women’s Basketball All-America teams on Thursday. Taylah Simmons, junior forward for Southeastern (Fla.) was named NAIA National Player of the Year.

Philly Lammers of Concordia (Neb.) and Kynedi Cheeseman of Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) were the lone two that appeared as All-America First Team selections in 2019 and this season.

Shandra Farmer of Hastings (Neb.) and Kaitlyn Aylward of St. Francis (Ill.) both made the jump from second team in 2019 to first team this season, while Sarah Fryman of Huntington (Ind.) and Becca Buchs of Taylor (Ind.) both earned a spot on the first team after being named an honorable mention a year ago.

Named to the third team was Dordt’s Erika Feenstra. Feenstra started all 32 games for the Defenders and shot .604 from the field. and went 147 of 182 from the free throw line. Feenstra had a team high 189 boards, and averaged 17.6 points per game.

Honorable mention honors went to Northwestern’s Sammy Blum. Blum started 28 games and shot .455 from the field and went 72 of 188 from three point range and 70 of 81 from the charity stripe. Blum scored 436 points on the season.

Pin It [2]